Media Contact:  Judy Gower   724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

November 10, 2007



PITTSBURGH, PA – Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway honored their 2007 Track Champions at the 19th Annual Awards Banquet held Saturday, November 3 at the Chartiers Room in Bridgeville. Also honored and recognized were the top ten drivers in the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Models, Brougher’s Machine Shop Crate Late Models, Miley Truck Rental E-Modifieds, Sunoco Race Fuels Pure Stocks, Old Allegheny Shoppe Amateur Stocks, and the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns.   Several other special awards were presented during the evening.


Highlighting the awards program was the presentation of champion’s trophies and the custom designed black onyx champion’s rings to South Park’s Jared Miley (Late Models), Kyle Lukon, Burgettstown (Crate Late Models), Wayne Tessean, Austintown OH, (E-Modifieds), Joe Anthony, Baldwin (Pure Stocks), Davy Lee, Independence (Amateur Stocks) and to co-champions Dusty Curry, Dormont and Michael Reft, Whitehall, (Young Guns).  Each champion was also presented with a monogrammed racing jacket compliments of Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic.  For Miley, Lukon, Anthony, Lee, Curry, and Reft, the division championships were career firsts; while Tessean repeated as E-Mod Champion, and the title was his sixth at Pittsburgh.


Following the presentation of the top ten driver awards, special recognition was paid to the drivers who achieved their career first win at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway during the 2007 racing season.  The highly competitive Crate Late Model Division saw brother and sister, Kyle and Laura Lukon, both capture their career firsts along with Danny Angelicchio.  In the E-mods, J. J. Bametzrieder collected his first victory while three drivers in the Amateur Stocks realized their first ever wins.  Those would be Curt Bish, Tony White and J. J. O’Patchen.  Co-Young Guns Champion Michael Reft also scored his career first win in the teenage division.


Named “Rookies of the Year” were the following:  Late Models – Tommy Beck, Crate Late Models – Daryl Charlier, Amateur Stocks – Curt Bish, Pure Stocks - Michael Mohn, and Young Guns – Michael Reft. 


 Jared Miley, enroute to his Late Model division track championship, was named the Hard Charger six different times during the 2007 season.  Daryl Charlier collected the award by being named Hard Charger four times in the Crate Late Models, while Mike Basich and J. E. Stalder tied for the honor in the E-Mods with 5 weekly awards each during the season.  Leaving no doubt about their hard charger status, Amateur Stock Champ Davy Lee collected the honor 14 times, and Young Gun Champion Dusty Curry was Hard Charger on 10 occasions.


The prestigious 19th Annual Sportsman of the Year Award went to Pure Stock driver Bob Schwartzmiller for being one who certainly exemplified the meaning of true “sportsmanship” at, and on the track during all the years he competed at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.


A tentative schedule of events for the 2008 season will be forthcoming as well as the rules for all the divisions.  Visit the PPMS web site at ppms.com for all the latest information, or you can call the Pittsburgh Business Office at 412-279-7223.