Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223   jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak


Steve Baker Achieves 25th PPMS Late Model Win;  Leo Stadelman Captures Career First in Crate Lates.


PITTSBURGH, PA (May 20, 2006)  - Fairmont WV’s Steve Baker picked up his first win of the season in the Late Models, while Leo Stadelman, Pittsburgh PA, in his third ever race, grabbed the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models. Mike Basich, Adena, OH took his second career Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds, while Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis PA, took his second win in the WBGN-TV Pure Stocks, while Gary Koteles, Monongahela PA, won his first of the season in the Amateur Stocks and Rich Mason, Kennedy Twp. PA, took his fourth win in the Young Guns.


The Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models were the first on the card tonight and Laura Lukon and Leo Stadelman brought the field down for the start. The rookie Stadelman grabbed the lead at the start, while veteran Kirk Young moved into second, and another rookie Kyle Lukon moved into third. Stadelman drove a smart race, holding Young at bay at every move. On a lap 17 restart, Laura Lukon, Nick Duratz, and Pete Rech tangled on the front straight, with Laura hitting the wall and flipping over (for the second time this year). She was uninjured. Stadelman resumed the lead on the restart and held on until the checker. Young finished second, followed by Tommy Schirnoffer, (in his first start of the season) with Kyle Lukon, Tim Folmer, Mike Cecere, Jason Rider (last weeks winner and the hard charger, from 12th), Wes Wheeler, Bruce Takach, and John Hobbs trailed. Mike Cecere and Tim Folmer took the heats.


In the Late Models, the “West Virginia Rim Rider” Steve Baker grabbed his first win of the season and his 25th career PPMS Late Model win. Darrin Miller and Mike Johnson brought the field down for the start. Miller and Johnson battled for the lead on the first lap, while Baker (who started fourth), made an exciting move by splitting the pair after passing the flagstand to take the lead. Baker built up a big lead until a lap 11 restart. Lynn Geisler, who now has a “spec” motor, moved into second and challenged Baker on the restart. The pair pulled away from the rest of the field. As the laps wound down, Baker began to put a little distance on Geisler, and was about eight car lengths ahead at the checker. Geisler had his best run of the season in second followed by Scott Gunn. Last week’s winner Mike Davis, came from 12th to finish 4th, followed by Rich Apolito, Keith Barbara (the hard charger, from 16th), Dave Wade, Miller, Keith Rodriguez, and Mark Banal. Scott Gunn and Steve Baker grabbed the heat wins.


In the WBGN-TV Pure Stocks, Jeff Broniszewski picked up his second win of the season and became the first repeat winner in the class. Broniszewski took the lead on the last lap from race long leader Jake Simmons, in an exciting race. Frankie Schneider (driving the Craig Kamicker #72) was a close third followed by Ron O’Patchen and Daryl Robison. Rounding out the top ten were, Aaron Jones, Nick Kocuba, Bill Robertson, Joe Anthony, and Bob Schwartzmiller. The heat winners were Jake Simmons and Bill Robertson.


The Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds saw a battle between the Basich brothers, Chris and Mike, with Mike taking his second career win. Vince Laboon was the early leader giving way to Chris Basich on lap 6. Chris looked like he might be heading to his first win, but brother Mike had different ideas. Mike got by Chris on lap 11 and led the rest of the way. Chris ended up second followed by Wayne Tessean, Kevin Miller, hard charger and 19th starting, J.E. Stalder, 20th starting Daryl Charlier, Laboon, Dennis Neiderriter, Joel Johns, and Cody Barack rounding out the top ten. Wayne Tessean and Mike Basich picked up victories in the heats.


In the Amateur Stocks, Gary Koteles, driving the Adam Chytil #125, took his first win of the season in a great race over Robby Torrens and early leader Eric Goldberg. Todd Evans, Cory Behanna, Terry Kerr, Travis Gatten, Darren Ferguson, Rich Cooper, and Davy Lee trailed. Eric Goldberg won the heat.


Rich Mason took his fourth win the Young Guns, after a last lap pass over Dusty Curry. Todd Janus and newcomer Tyler Fox followed.



Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223   jdgocar@aol.com


Late Models

Heat Race Winners – Scott Gunn and Steve Baker

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Steve Baker, 2. Lynn Geisler, 3. Scott Gunn, 4. Michael Davis, 5. Rich Apolito, 6. Keith Barbara, 7. Dave Wade, 8. D. J. Miller, 9. Keith Rodriguez, 10. Mark Banal, 11. Lou Bradich, 12. Tim Gould, 13. Ben Miley, 14. Rick Heim, 15. Jimmy Stephans, 16. Mark Moats, 17. Jared Miley, 18. Danny Rich, 19. Mike Johnson


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models

Heat Race Winners – Mike Cecere and Tim Folmer

Feature (20 laps) – 1. Leo Stadelman, 2. Kirk Young, 3. Tom Schirnhofer, 4. Kyle Lukon, 5. Tim Folmer, 6. Mike Cecere, 7. Jason Rider, 8. Wes Wheeler, 9. Bruce Takach, 10. Dr. John Hobbs, 11. Pete Rech, 12. Jim Moore, 13. Mark Moats Jr., 14. Laura Lukon, 15. Nick Duratz, 16. John Cain, 17. Larry Marks


Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds

Heat Race Winners  – Wayne Tessean and Mike Basich

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Mike Basich, 2. Chris Basich, 3. Wayne Tessean, 4. Kevin Miller, 5. J E. Stalder, 6. Daryl Charlier, 7. Vince Laboon, 8. Dennis Niederriter, 9. Joel Johns, 10. Cody Barack, 11. Jim Plance, 12. Mitch Basich, 13. Tom Martineck, 14. Clayton Kennedy, 15. J. J. Bametzrieder, 16. Mike McKee, 17. Chad Will, 18. David Mercer, 19. Joe Pemberton, 20. Denny Nakutis.


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Heat Race Winners – Jake Simmons and Bill Robertson

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Jeff Broniszewski, 2. Jake Simmons, 3. Frankie Schneider, 4. Ron O’Patchen, 5. Darryl Robison, 6. Aaron Jones, 7. Nick Kocuba, 8. Bill Robertson, 9. Joe Anthony, 10. Bob Schwartzmiller, 11. Charlie DiLoreto, 12. Craig Koteles, 13. Don Bauerle Jr. 14. James Wagner, 15. Mitch Wattelet, 16. Steve Webb, 17. A. J. Poljak, 18. Paul Barva (DNS)


Amateur Stocks

Heat Winner – Eric Goldberg

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Gary Koteles, 2. Robby Torrens, 3. Eric Goldberg, 4. Todd Evans, 5. Cory Behanna, 6. Terry Kerr, 7. Travis Gatten, 8. Darren Ferguson, 9. Rich Cooper, 10. Davy Lee


Young Guns

Feature (4 Laps) – 1. Rich Mason, 2. Dusty Curry, 3. Todd Janus, 4. Tyler Fox