Contact Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story content provided by John Stasiak

May 28, 2006


Bradich and Gunn Split Twin 20’s;  Folmer and Chris Basich win Career Firsts at PPMS.


PITTSBURGH, PA (May 27, 2006) - Lou Bradich, Chester WV, picked up his third win of the season in the first half of Twin 20’s Late Model feature, while Scott Gunn, Pittsburgh PA picked up his first win of the season in the second 20. Tim Folmer, Carnegie, PA won his career first Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Model feature, while Chris Basich, Adena OH, took his career first in the Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds. In the WBGN-TV Pure Stocks, Hopewell PA’s Craig Kamicker took the win. Kennedy Twp. PA’s Robby Torrens won the Amateur Stocks, and fellow Kennedy Twp. PA runner Rich Mason took the Young Gun main.


John Flinner and Lynn Geisler brought the field down for the green in the first 20 lap feature. Third starting Mike Davis took the lead on the first lap with Lou Bradich in tow. A hard crash by Jared Miley, after contact with Scott Gunn, brought out a yellow the next lap. Miley was uninjured. On the restart Bradich grabbed the lead from Davis. The following lap Geisler got by Davis and set sail for Bradich. Bradich continued to lead comfortably, but Geisler slowly started to reel him in. Geisler’s efforts came to an end on lap 8 when he hit the third turn wall. Bradich resumed the lead, but two laps later Danny Rich hit the fence. Bradich again grabbed the lead, and quickly put some distance between himself and second running Davis. On lap 16, Rich Apolito hit the front straight wall, and ended up down among the UTE tires after making contact with Keith Rodriguez. On this restart, Davis got a second wind and started challenging Bradich for the lead. Davis pulled ahead on the white flag lap, but Bradich got a good run coming off turn two, and held off Davis for the win. Twelfth starting Steve Baker battled Dave Wade in the closing laps, to finish third. Wade ended up fourth, followed by Bob Williams, Flinner, Ben Miley, Rodriguez, Gunn, and Tony Musolino to round out the top ten. Scott Gunn and Steve Baker won the heats, and Baker was also the hard charger.


 The second “20” saw West Mifflin, PA’s Scott Gunn use his front row starting spot to take the lead at the outset, and storm to his first win of the season in a non-stop affair. Keith Rodriguez had a career best run to finish second, followed by Ben Miley, Bob Williams, Tony Musolino, Lou Bradich, Mike Davis, Lynn Geisler, Steve Baker, and Dave Wade. Fifteenth starting Geisler was the hard charger.


In the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Tim Folmer, Carnegie PA, grabbed his first career win. Folmer battled top rookie Jason Rider the entire distance as the pair swapped the lead four times throughout the 20 lap event. Tom Schirnoffer Jr., charged from tenth to finish third, and was the hard charger. Ray Brown was a strong fourth followed by Mike Cecere, George Kowatic (driving the Castelvetter #27) Nick Duratz, Pete Rech, Tom Duratz, and Kyle Lukon.  Kyle Lukon and Mike Cecere grabbed the heats.


Chris Basich Adena, OH took his first career Lincoln Welder E-Mods feature in an exciting 15 lap main. Basich overcame early leaders Joel Johns and Kari Gasser, and held off a tough late race challenge from 11th starting, and hard charger, Wayne Tessean to pick up the win. Kevin Miller was a close third followed by Gasser (in her first start of the season) 12th starting Mike Basich, Vince Laboon, Dennis Neiderriter, Tom Martineck, Jimmy Plance, and Johns. The heat races fell to Mike Basich and Wayne Tessean.


Craig Kamicker, Hopewell PA, picked up his second WBGN-TV Pure Stock main of the season in style over Daryl Robison, Jake Simmons, Aaron Jones, Nick Kocuba, Joe Anthony, Bob Schwartzmiller, Jeff Broniszewski, Charlie DiLoretto, and A.J. Poljak. Craig Kamicker also picked up a heat along with Jake Simmons.


Robby Torrens, Kennedy Twp., picked up his second win of the season, after early leader Davy Lee’s misfortune. Lee, who lead from the start had a flat on a caution, and had to pit, giving the lead to Torrens. Josh Langer (in the Eric Goldberg #714) ran second, followed by Gary Koteles, Rick Gorsuch, Adam Chytil, Todd Evans, Terry Kerr, Craig Koteles, Davey Lee, and Bud Sinclair. John Langer took the lone heat.


Rich Mason, Kennedy Twp., grabbed his fifth win in the Young Guns over Dusty Curry, Todd Janus, and Nick Johnson.


Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223 



Heat Race Winners – Scott Gunn and Steve Baker

Feature #1 (20 Laps) – 1. Lou Bradich, 2. Michael Davis, 3. Steve Baker, 4. Dave Wade, 5. Bob Williams, 6. John Flinner, 7. Ben Miley, 8. Keith Rodriguez, 9. Scott Gunn, 10. Tony Musolino, 11. D. J. Miller, 12. Rick Heim, 13. Jimmy Stephans, 14. Brent Rhebergen, 15. Rich Apolito, 16. Danny Rich, 17. Lynn Geisler, 18. Jared Miley


Feature #2 (20 Laps) – 1. Scott Gunn, 2. Keith Rodriguez, 3. Ben Miley, 4. Bob Williams, 5. Tony Musolino, 6. Lou Bradich, 7. Michael Davis, 8. Lynn Geisler, 9. Steve Baker, 10. Dave Wade, 11. Rick Heim, 12. John Flinner, 13. Brent Rhebergen, 14. Jimmy Stephans, 15. D J. Miller, 16. Jared Miley, 17. Rich Apolito (DNS), 18. Danny Rich (DNS)



Heat Race Winners – Kyle Lukon and Mike Cecere

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Tim Folmer, 2. Jason Rider, 3. Tom Schirnhofer, 4. Ray Brown, 5. Mike Cecere, 6. George Kowatic, 7. Nick Duratz, 8. Pete Rech, 9. Tom Duratz, 10. Kyle Lukon, 11. Dr. John Hobbs, 12. Bruce Takach, 13. John Cain, 14. Wes Wheeler, 15. Leo Stadelman, 16. Jim Moore, 17. Mark Moats, Jr., 18. Larry Marks, 19. Bryan Hoffman



Heat Race Winners – Mike Basich and Wayne Tessean

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Chris Basich, 2. Wayne Tessean, 3. Kevin Miller, 4. Kari Gasser, 5. Mike Basich, 6. Vince Laboon, 7. Dennis Niederriter, 8. Tom Martinek, 9. Jim Plance, 10. Joel Johns, 11. Clayton Kennedy, 12. Stush Sadowski, 13. David Mercer, 14. Joe Pemberton, 15. Daryl Charlier, 16. J. E. Stalder, 17. Willy Briggs



Heat Race Winners – Craig Kamicker and Jake Simmons

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Craig Kamicker, 2. Darryl Robison, 3. Jake Simmons, 4. Aaron Jones, 5. Nick Kocuba, 6. Joe Anthony, 7. Bob Schwartzmiller, 8. Jeff Broniszewski, 9. Charlie DiLoreto, 10. A. J. Poljak, 11. Bill Robertson, 12. Drew Koteles, 13. Mike Harris



Heat – Josh Langer

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Robby Torrens, 2. Josh Langer, 3. Gary Koteles, 4. Rick Gorsuch, 5. Adam Chytil, 6. Todd Evans, 7. Terry Kerr, 8. Craig Koteles, 9. Davy Lee, 10. Bud Sinclair



Feature (4 Laps) – 1. Rich Mason, 2. Dusty Curry, 3. Todd Janus, 4. Nick Johnson