Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story content provided by John Stasiak

June 22, 2006


Bradich wins Topless Tuesday at PPMS. Brown, Tessean, Simmons, Curry and Lee also win.


PITTSBURGH PA (June 20, 2006) -    Action was the keyword at PPMS Tuesday night for the first “Topless Tuesday” of the year where the Late Models and Crate Late Models run without roofs. Lou Bradich Chester, WV picked up his fifth win of the season in the Late Models. In the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Ray Brown Hookstown, PA took a career first win. Jake Simmons, McKees Rocks, PA kept his recent hot streak going, picking up his second win of the season. Wayne Tessean Austintown, OH took his third Lincoln Welder E-Mod feature, while Davy Lee Independence, PA won his second Amateur Stock feature of the season. Dusty Curry Dormont, PA won his second Young Gun main in a row.


Lou Bradich made use of all 35 laps of the feature to win his 28th PPMS Late Model Career win and a $2000 payday, while Lynn Geisler continued to be a bridesmaid in an exciting race. A rare straight up start put heat winners Steve Baker and Keith Barbara on the front row for the start. Baker grabbed the lead at the outset and led the first lap, when a surprising Dave Wade took over on lap two. Wade led the next six laps, until going down the back straight and colliding with Mark Banal, who had just hit the wall (for the second time in the main) and was attempting to cross the track to the pits. Both cars were badly damaged and out of the event. Baker regained the lead on the restart and lead until lap 13, when Lynn Geisler took over. Meanwhile Bradich had slowly made his way thru the field from his 12th starting spot. On lap 10 he was up to fourth and by lap 17 he was in third. On lap 23 he got by Baker for second, and set sail for Geisler. Bradich caught Geisler by lap 30, and looked for a way around, while the pair diced thru traffic. Then on lap 34, as they moved thru lapped traffic, Geisler took to the high side, while Bradich went low, and that proved to be the winning move, as Bradich just beat Geisler to the flag. Baker, who fought a tight racecar most of the event, was a close third with Keith Barbara right behind. Invader Doug Dodd, making his first PPMS start of the season, took fifth, over Saturday nights winner Mike Davis, Jim Stephans (in his best run of the season), Tony Musolino, Cory Conley, another invader in his first PPMS start of the year also, and Ben Miley, who was running fifth on the next to the last lap, and pitted. Steve Baker and Keith Barbara took the heats.


     The Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Ray Brown drove a solid race to pick up his first career win in his second season in the class.  Larry Marks was the early leader, with Leo Stadelman and Jason Rider in tow. Brown quickly joined the fray, and got by Rider on lap 9 for third, and got Stadelman and Marks on lap 12. Once in the lead, Brown was never challenged. Jason Rider ended up second, with Saturday’s winner Tom Schirnhofer Jr. in third, Pete Rech took fourth, and Tim Folmer ended up fifth. Rounding out the top ten finishers were Bruce Takach, Marks, Wes Wheeler, John Cain, and Jim Moore. Tim Folmer and Ray Brown were the heat victors.


    Jake Simmons took the measure of the field in the WBGN Pure Stocks feature. Simmons grabbed the lead off Bill Robertson on lap 6 and never looked back to defeat three time winner Jeff Broniszewski for his second win in the last three nights. Craig Kamicker finished third, followed by Robertson and Aaron Jones. Early leader Nick Kocuba was sixth, with Charlie DiLoreto, Bob Schwartzmiller, Shawn Bryan, and A.J. Poljak trailing. The heats fell to Craig Kamicker and Jeff Broniszewski.


    Wayne Tessean worked his way from a 10th starting spot to win his 61st career Lincoln Welder E-Mod feature. Tessean using the outside groove most of the way took the lead of Daryl Charlier on lap 7, and held off a fast closing Jacob Hawkins for the win. Hawkins, the bright 16 year old, fresh off his first career win last Friday, was making his first PPMS start, started in 11th and worked his way thru the field to get into second on lap 12. He closed in on Tessean quickly, but ran out of laps. To top that off, he battled the last two laps with a broken left front upper ball joint. Charlier ended up third, with Chris Basich in fourth, and Kari Gasser in fifth. J.E. Stalder drove to a sixth place finish, with Bill Westlake, Dale Charlier, Dennis Niederriter, and Joel Johns rounding out the top ten finishers. The heats saw Wayne Tessean and Jacob Hawkins pick up the wins.


     The Amateur Stock class saw Davy Lee hold off a strong challenge from Eric Goldberg early and Robby Torrens later, to pick up his second win in three races. Torrens, ended up second, with Goldberg in third, followed by Travis Gatten, and Adam Chytil. Rick Gorsuch took sixth with Todd Evans, Jason Herniak and Corey Behanna rounding out the field. Robby Torrens won the lone heat.


     No less than three leaders had shots at winning the Young Guns main, but Dusty Curry was not to be denied, as he led the last two laps for his second win of the season. Todd Janus was second, followed by Nick Johnson, Sarah Schrum, and Devin Tomei (in the Rich Mason #23) rounding out the field.




 LATE MODELS  (Topless Tuesday)

Heats – Steve Baker and Keith Barbara

Feature (35 laps) – 1. Lou Bradich, 2. Lynn Geisler, 3. Steve Baker, 4. Keith Barbara, 5. Doug Dodd, 6. Michael Davis, 7. Jimmy Stephans, 8. Tony Musolino, 9. Corey Conley, 10. Ben Miley, 11. Tim Gould, 12. Brandon Burgoon, 13. Scott Gunn, 14. Keith Rodriguez, 15. Gary Knollinger, 16. Rich Apolito, 17. D. J. Pellen, 18. Bob Williams, 19. Jared Miley, 20. Dave Wade, 21. Mark Banal



Heats – Tim Folmer and Ray Brown

Feature (20 laps) – 1. Ray Brown, 2. Jason Rider, 3. Tom Schirnhofer, 4. Pete Rech, 5. Tim Folmer, 6. Bruce Takach, 7. Larry Marks, 8. Wes Wheeler, 9. John Cain, 10. Jim Moore, 11. Leo Stadelman, 12. Kyle Lukon, 13. John Hobbs, 14. Laura Lukon, 15. Nick Duratz, 16. Pete Loria (DNS), 17. Kirk Young (DNS)



Heats – Jacob Hawkins and Wayne Tessean

Feature (15 laps) – 1.  Wayne Tessean, 2. Jacob Hawkins, 3. Daryl Charlier, 4. Chris Basich, 5. Kari Gasser, 6. J. E. Stalder, 7. Bill Westlake, 8. Dale Charlier, 9. Dennis Niederriter, 10. Joel Johns, 11. Rick Meglaye, 12. Stush Sadowski, 13, Clayton Kennedy, 14. Joe Pemberton, 15. Denny Nakutus (DNS)



Heats – Craig Kamicker and Jeff Broniszewski

Feature (12 laps) – 1. Jake Simmons, 2. Jeff Broniszewski, 3. Craig Kamicker, 4. Bill Robertson, 5. Aaron Jones, 6. Nick Kocuba, 7. Charlie DiLoretto, 8. Bob Schwartzmiller, 9, Shawn Bryan, 10. A. J. Poljak, 11. Darryl Robison, 12. Mitch Wattelet, 13. Vince Kamicker, 14. Don Bauerle, 15. Joe Anthony, 16. Ron O’Patchen



Heat – Robby Torrens

Feature (12 laps) – 1. Davy Lee, 2. Robby Torrens, 3. Eric Goldberg, 4. Travis Gatten, 5. Adam Chytil, 6. Rick Gorsuch, 7. Todd Evans, 8. Jason Herniak, 9. Cory Behanna



Feature (5 laps) – 1.  Dusty Curry, 2. Todd Janus, 3. Nick Johnson, 4. Sarah Schrum, 5.  Devin Tomei