Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak

July 29, 2006


Marks Wins First.  Wade, Tessean, Broniszewski, Goldberg, Schrum, and Chytil Repeat at PPMS.


PITTSBURGH, PA (July 29, 2006)  -  Dave Wade, Clinton, PA took his third Late Model win of the season on Colussy Chevrolet Night at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Saturday evening.  Wade used a front row starting spot to his advantage to lead all 25 laps in a non-stop affair. Rich Apolito had a career best finish in second, with Tuesday night’s winner Jared Miley in third. Ben Miley rode home fourth followed by Mike Johnson, 15th starting Lynn Geisler, point leader Lou Bradich, Al Atallah, Mike Davis, and Scott Gunn. Jim Stephans took a career first win in the first Late Model heat, while Mike Johnson took the second.


 Larry Marks, West Mifflin, PA grabbed his first career feature win in the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Model in fine style. Leo Stadelman grabbed the lead at the outset with Jason Rider in tow. The pair of crate motor powered cars pulled away from the field. A lap five restart changed all that, as Rider took the point. Two laps later second running Stadelman tagged the wall, which brought out the caution and ended his night. On the restart Marks took the lead, but another caution put Rider back out front. On the next restart Marks took the lead for good, but did not have an easy time of it as Pete Rech moved into second and kept the pressure on the remainder of the event. Twelfth starting Mike Cecere finished third with Rider fading to fourth. Nick Jones drove the Castelveter #27 into fifth, followed by Kyle Lukon, Ray Brown, Tom Schirnhofer Jr., Jimmy Arnold, and Mark Moats Jr.  Kyle Lukon and Ray Brown took the heats.


Wayne Tessean Austintown, OH took his fifth win of the season in the Lincoln Welder E-mods, and his 63rd career PPMS win. Kari Gasser looked as if she was going to be the second female driver during the evening to win a feature, as she held a large lead most of the 15 lap main. However a restart with three to go, saw Tessean go to the high side and out gun Gasser as the green dropped. Gasser settled for second, with Kevin Miller third, Chris Basich, Shawn Domhoff, Tom Martineck, Daryl Charlier, Mike Basich, Dale Charlier, and Vince Laboon rounding out the top ten finishers. Domhoff and Mike Basich were battling for second on lap 6, but tangled dropping them back in the field. Chuck Kennedy was running a strong third, but tagged the wall on lap 12 to bring out the last yellow. The two heats saw Chris Basich and Kevin Miller take wins.


In the WBGN Pure Stocks Jeff Broniszewski Coraopolis, PA took his fourth win of the season. Jake Simmons led from the start, and looked for a while like he might be headed for another win but Broniszewski had other ideas. Broniszewski took second off Nick Kocuba on lap 7, and began to pressure Simmons, finally getting by on lap 12. Simmons was second, with 11th starting Craig Kamicker charging up for third. Kocuba was fourth followed by, Bob Schwartzmiller, Bill Robertson, Ron O’Patchen, Joe Anthony, and Charlie DiLoreto. Joe Anthony and Craig Kamicker grabbed the heat victories.


Two Amateur Stock Features were run with Eric Goldberg Pittsburgh, PA and Adam Chytil McDonald, PA taking the wins. In the first go (the event postponed from last Saturday), Goldberg took the lead at the start, with Travis Gatten in second. The pair ran this way until Gatten tangled with third running Davy Lee with just a lap to go. Lee appeared to be able to make a run at Goldberg on the restart, but slowed after the white flag. Robby Torrens was second, followed by Chytil, Rick Gorsuch, and Lee. Gatten was sixth with Todd Evans seventh, followed by Terry Kerr, J.J. O’Patchen, and Rich Cooper trailing. Davy Lee took the heat. The second main saw Chytil take the lead at the start. Travis Gatten ran second, with Robby Torrens third, followed by Rick Gorsuch, Todd Evans, Derek Stefanick, Jason Herniak, Davey Lee, and Eric Goldberg trailed.


In the Young Guns, Sarah Schrum Canfield, OH took her win in exciting fashion, passing both top winners Dusty Curry and Rich Mason. Devin Tomei and Tyler Fox trailed.




Late Models

Heats – Jim Stephans and Mike Johnson

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Dave Wade, 2. Rich Apolito, 3. Jared Miley, 4. Ben Miley, 5. Mike Johnson, 6. Lynn Geisler, 7. Lou Bradich, 8. Al Atallah, 9. Michael Davis, 10. Scott Gunn, 11. Jim Stephans, 12. Chris Angelicchio, 13. Brandon Burgoon, 14. Keith Rodriguez, 15. Butch D’Antonio, 16. Lance Elson


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models

Heats – Kyle Lukon and Ray Brown

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Larry Marks, 2. Pete Rech, 3. Mike Cecere, 4. Jason Rider, 5. Nick Jones, 6. Kyle Lukon, 7. Ray Brown, 8. Tom Schirnhofer, 9. Jimmy Arnold, 10. Mark Moats, 11. Laura Lukon, 12. Wes Wheeler, 13. Brad Westover, 14. Bryan Hoffman, 15. Scott Wilhelm, 16. Leo Stadelman


Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds

Heats – Chris Basich and Kevin Miller

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Wayne Tessean, 2. Kari Gasser, 3. Kevin Miller, 4. Chris Basich, 5. Shawn Domhoff, 6. Tom Martineck, 7. Daryl Charlier, 8. Mike Basich, 9. Dale Charlier, 10. Vince Laboon, 11. Bruce Dreistadt, 12. Joel Johns, 13. Jim Plance, 14. Stush Sadowski, 15. David Mercer, 16. Denny Nakutis, 17. Joe Betz, 18. Chuck Kennedy, 19. Joe Pemberton


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Heats – Joe Anthony and Craig Kamicker

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Jeff Broniszewski, 2. Jake Simmons, 3. Craig Kamicker, 4. Nick Kocuba, 5. Bob Schwartzmiller, 6. Steve Webb, 7. Bill Robertson, 8. Ron O’Patchen, 9. Joe Anthony, 10, Charlie DiLoreto, 11. A. J. Poljak, 12. Pat Weldon, 13. C. J. Morley, 14. Don Bauerle, 15. Jim Wagner


Amateur Stocks

Feature postponed from 7/22/06 (12 Laps) – 1. Eric Goldberg, 2. Robby Torrens, 3. Adam Chytil, 4. Rick Gorsuch, 5. Davy Lee, 6. Travis Gatten, 7. Todd Evans, 8. Terry Kerr, 9. J. J. O’Patchen, 10. Rich Cooper, 11. Jason Herniak (DNS)

Heat – Davy Lee

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Adam Chytil, 2. Travis Gatten, 3. Robby Torrens, 4. Rick Gorsuch, 5. Todd Evans, 6. Derek Stefanick, 7. Jason Herniak, 8. Davy Lee, 9. Eric Goldberg


Young Guns

Feature (5 Laps) – 1. Sarah Schrum, 2. Dusty Curry, 3. Rich Mason, 4. Devin Tomei, 5. Tyler Fox