Contact Judy Gower  724-836-7408  jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak


Mike Johnson wins his first of the season, Jake Simmons wins Pure Stock “20”, Cecere, M. Basich, Lee, Curry also win at PPMS.


PITTSBURGH, PA (August 5, 2006) -  Mike Johnson Imperial, PA took his first Late Model win since April 2004 in an exciting feature. Mike Davis grabbed the lead at the outset, and for a good bit of the 25-lap main looked as if he was headed for another win. However Johnson had different ideas. Johnson, who started third, battled with Steve Baker for second for quite a few laps until around the mid-point of the event and got by on lap 14. He then set sail for Davis. As the laps ticked off Johnson, as well as third running Baker and fourth running Lou Bradich slowly closed in on Davis. On lap 23 Johnson got under Davis, but Davis held him off. Johnson tried again on the 24-lap, but Davis using the high side still held on. Then on the final lap, in turns one and two Johnson make the pass stick and took the lead and went on for the win in the non stop race. Davis was second with Baker and Bradich right behind in third and fourth. Tony Musolino was fifth, followed by 17th starting Lynn Geisler, Jared Miley, Jim Stephans, Ben Miley and Keith Rodriguez. Lou Bradich and Keith Rodriguez grabbed the heat wins.


     The annual Pure Stock 20, for the WBGN Pure Stocks saw Jake Simmons, McKees Rocks, PA destroy the field to pick up his fourth win of 2006. The start had point leader and leading winner Craig Kamicker and Simmons bring the field down for the green. Kamicker took the lead with Simmons right behind. Simmons made a couple tries for the lead on the outside, then made a run on the inside and grabbed the lead on lap 5. Simmons then pulled away and at the end was leading by ½ a lap in the non-stop race. While Simmons was running away with the event, the real battle was for second thru tenth, with positions changing every lap throughout the 20-lap event. Bill Robertson drove a strong race to finish second and Daryl Robison in third. A.J. Poljak was fourth, followed by Nick Kocuba, Kamicker, Jeff Broniszewski, Pat Weldon, Steve Webb, and Joe Anthony.  Jake Simmons and Craig Kamicker took the two heat victories, and Kamicker also grabbed the Dash win. We would like to thank Angela Loria and all the race sponsors for their tireless efforts to make this event a success.


     In the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Mike Cecere, Baldwin, PA took his fifth win of the season. Cecere, who started sixth, methodically worked his way thru the field, taking the lead from early leader Ray Brown on lap four. Cecere then withstood several challenges from Nick Jones (in the Castelveter #27) to take the win. Jones had his best run of the year to finish second. Ray Brown ended up third with last week’s winner Larry Marks, Tommy Schirnhofer Jr., Mark Moats Jr., Tim Folmer, Pete Rech Jason Rider, and Laura Lukon trailing. The heats fell to Tommy Schirnhofer Jr. and Kyle Lukon.


     The Lincoln Welder E-Mods feature was a battle between Adena, OH’s Basich brothers, Mike and Chris. Mike took the lead on lap three from Kurt Habdehl (making his first start of the season in his own #50 machine) with his brother Chris moving into second on lap four. The pair left the rest of the field, and Mike picked up his second win of the season. Chris was right behind in second, followed by last weeks winner Wayne Tessean, Habdehl, Kevin Miller, Kari Gasser, Tom Martineck, Daryl Charlier, Bruce Dreistadt, and Joel Johns in yet another non-stop event. Kevin Miller and Wayne Tessean took the two heat wins.


     Independence PA’s Davy Lee drove to his fifth win in the Amateur Stock main. Lee took the lead from Robby Torrens on lap 9 on an inside pass after trying the high side for several laps. Rick Gorsuch had his best finish of the season to finish second, with Adam Chytil in third, Torrens in fourth, followed by Todd Evans, Travis Gatten, Jason Herniak, Derek Stefanick, Richie Cooper and Ian Tomei (in the Goldberg #714). The heats saw Ian Tomei and Adam Chytil take the wins.


     Dormont, PA’s Dusty Curry took his sixth win of the season in the Young Guns main. Curry held off last week’s winner and fan favorite Sarah Schrum in a close race. Point leader and top winner Rich Mason was third, followed by Tyler Fox and Devin Tomei to round out the top five.




Late Models

Heats – Lou Bradich and Keith Rodriguez

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Mike Johnson, 2. Michael Davis, 3. Steve Baker, 4. Lou Bradich, 5. Tony Musolino, 6. Lynn Geisler, 7. Jared Miley, 8. Jimmy Stephans, 9.Ben Miley, 10. Keith Rodriguez, 11. Brandon Burgoon, 12. Dave Wade, 13. Rich Apolito, 14. Rick Heim, 15. Matt Dobnak, 16. Butch D’Antonio, 17. Bob Williams, 18. Scott Gunn


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models

Heats – Tommy Schirnhofer and Kyle Lukon

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Mike Cecere, 2. Nick Jones, 3. Ray Brown, 4. Larry Marks, 5. Tommy Schirnhofer, 6. Mark Moats, 7. Tim Folmer, 8. Pete Rech, 9. Jason Rider, 10. Laura Lukon, 11. J. R. Wright, 12. Brad Westover, 13. Scott Wilhelm, 14. Bryan Hoffman, 15. Nick Duratz, 16. Kyle Lukon, 17. Leo Stadelman, 18. Jimmy Arnold (DNS)


Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds

Heats – Kevin Miller and Wayne Tessean

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Mike Basich, 2. Chris Basich, 3. Wayne Tessean, 4. Kurt Habdehl, 5, Kevin Miller, 6. Kari Gasser, 7. Tom Martinek, 8. Daryl Charlier, 9. Bruce Dreistadt, 10. Joel Johns, 11. David Mercer, 12. Deana Groves, 13. Vince Laboon, 14. Joe Pemberton


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Dash – Craig Kamicker

Heats – Jake Simmons and Craig Kamicker

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Jake Simmons, 2. Bill Robertson, 3. Darryl Robison, 4. A. J. Poljak, 5. Nick Kocuba, 6. Craig Kamicker, 7. Jeff Broniszewski, 8. Pat Weldon, 9. Steve Webb, 10. Joe Anthony, 11. Bob Schwartzmiller, 12. Ron O’Patchen, 13. Gary Koteles, 14. Shawn Bryan, 15. Vince Kamicker, 16. Don Bauerle, 17. Russ Volponi, 18. Joe Hackimer

Hard Charger – Jeff Broniszewski

Hard Luck – Joe Hackimer


Amateur Stocks

Heats – Ian Tomei and Adam Chytil

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Davy Lee, 2. Rick Gorsuch, 3. Adam Chytil, 4. Robby Torrens, 5. Todd Evans, 6. Travis Gatten, 7. Jason Herniak, 8. Derek Stefanick, 9. Rich Cooper, 10. Ian Tomei, 11. Frank Piccolino, 12. Ray Prolenski (DNS)


Young Guns

Feature (5 Laps) – 1. Dusty Curry, 2. Sarah Schrum, 3. Rich Mason, 4. Tyler Fox, 5. Devin Tomei