Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak


Barbara and Poljak win first, Schirnhofer, Miller, Lee, and Schrum repeat at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway.


IMPERIAL PA (Sept. 16, 2006) - South Park, PA’s Keith Barbara took his first win of the season in a big way grabbing the 25 lap Late Model feature at PPMS. Jared Miley took the lead at the drop of the green while Barbara quickly moved into second, with Jim Stephens in third and Mike Davis in fourth. Miley maintained a comfortable lead for the next 12 laps, until he started to get bogged down by lapped traffic. Barbara caught him quickly, and then on lap 15 used a lapped car as a pick, and took the lead. Once in the lead Barbara pulled away and took his first win at PPMS since June 21, 2005. Miley was second, with Davis getting by Stephens for third in the late stages, followed by Dave Wade, Lou Bradich, Steve Baker, Mike Johnson, Dennis Neiderriter, and Doug Dodd. Robbie Scott, making his first ever appearance at PPMS brought out the races only yellow on lap 17 when his oil pump belt came off. Several drivers that were running the “Spec” motor option all season had in “open” motors trying them out for next weeks Pittsburgher. Lou Bradich had wrapped up the 2006 championship last week, his second in the Late Models and third overall at the track. The heats saw Mike Johnson, Dave Wade and Keith Barbara take wins.


     Tom Schirnhofer Jr. Dormont, PA continued his win streak in the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models by winning his fourth feature in the past weeks and fifth overall for the season. Leo Stadelman took the lead at the outset and was looking for his third win of the season. But a yellow on lap 9 gave Schirnhofer the chance he was looking for and grabbed the lead. Schirnhofer pulled away and led the remaining laps. Stadelman took second followed by Larry Marks, Tim Folmer, Kyle Lukon, Laura Lukon, Nick Jones, Pete Rech, Mark Moats Jr. and Wes Wheeler. Tom Schirnhofer Jr. and Nick Jones grabbed the heats. Mike Cecere also wrapped up the 2006 track championship the previous week, it is his first ever championship.


     Kevin Miller Toronto, OH took his fourth win of the season in the Lincoln Welder E-Mods. Wayne Tessean was the early leader with Kari Gasser running right behind. Tessean slowed on lap three, and Gasser tangled with him but kept going and took the lead. On the restart, Gasser kept the lead, but Miller moved by on lap four and held it the rest of the way. Gasser finished second with Daryl Charlier charged from 12th to finish third followed by Shawn Domhoff, Bruce Dreistadt, Chuck Kennedy, Vince Laboon, Stush Sadowski, Tom Martineck, and Joe Pemberton. Wayne Tessean also wrapped up the E-Mod championship the week before, his fifth. Chris Basich and Dale Charlier took the heat victories.


     A.J. Poljak Baldwin, PA took his first WBGN Pure Stock main in an exciting race. In what was one of the best Pure Stock features of the season, Poljak took the lead off Amateur Stock standout Adam Chytil (who bought the O’Patchen #51) on lap 3 and held off intense challenges from Stacie White then Bill Robertson to take the win. Robertson ended up second followed by White, Daryl Robison, Chytil, Nick Kocuba, Bob Schwartzmiller, Aaron Jones, Russ Volponi, and Don Bauerle. Point champion Craig Kamicker did not race.  He is preparing his machine for the Pure Stock invite at next weeks Pittsburgher. The heats went to Bill Robertson and Nick Kocuba.


    Davy Lee Independence, PA took his sixth win of the season in the Amateur Stocks over last week’s winner Eric Goldberg. 2006 champ Robby Torrens finished third followed by Rick Gorsuch, Travis Gatten, Craig Koteles (in the Bill Tennant #2T), Gary Koteles (in the Butch Levandosky #58), Darren Ferguson, Derek Stefanick, and Ray Prolenski. The two heats saw Rich Gorsuch and Eric Goldberg take wins.


     In the Young Gun main, Sarah Schrum Canfield, OH took her fifth feature of the season. Todd Janus finished second followed by Rich Mason, Nick Johnson, Dusty Curry, Devin Tomei, and Tyler Fox. The championship in the Young Guns was the only one undecided as the evening started. Dusty Curry had the point lead by a slim three points over Rich Mason as the night started. But a flat tire on the pace lap sent him to the pits with him not returning to the track until the green was thrown. Curry worked his way back to fifth at the finish, but needed one more spot to tie Mason for the title. But as it went Mason took the championship, the first ever in the class.




Late Models

Heats – Mike Johnson, Dave Wade and Keith Barbara

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Keith Barbara, 2. Jared Miley, 3. Michael Davis, 4. Jimmy Stephans, 5. Dave Wade, 6. Lou Bradich, 7. Steve Baker, 8. Mike Johnson, 9. Dennis Niederriter, 10. Doug Dodd, 11. Jim Lepro, 12. Al Atallah, 13. Scott Peltz, 14. Lance Elson, 15. Keith Rodriguez, 16. Scott Gunn, 17. Brandon Burgoon, 18. Butch D’Antonio, 19. Ben Miley, 20. Danny Rich, 21. Robbie Scott, 22. Lynn Geisler, 23. Bob Moskey, 24. Greg Gellner (DNS)


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models

Heats – Tommy Schirnhofer and Nick Jones

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Tommy Schirnhofer, 2. Leo Stadelman, 3. Larry Marks, 4. Tim Folmer, 5. Kyle Lukon, 6. Laura Lukon, 7. Nick Jones, 8. Pete Rech, 9. Mark Moats, 10. Wes Wheeler, 11. Jason Rider, 12. Floyd Cline, 13. John Hobbs, 14. Scott Wilhelm, 15. Bruce Takach, 16. Mike Cecere, 17. Ray Brown (DNS), 18. Brad Westover (DNS)


Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds

Heats – Chris Basich and Dale Charlier

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Kevin Miller, 2. Kari Gasser, 3. Daryl Charlier, 4. Shawn Domhoff, 5. Bruce Dreistadt, 6. Chuck Kennedy, 7. Vince Laboon, 8. Stush Sadowski, 9. Tom Martineck, 10. Joe Pemberton, 11. David Mercer, 12. Kurt Habdehl, 13. Mike Basich, 14. Dale Charlier, 15. Cody Barrack, 16. Chris Basich, 17. Wayne Tessean


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Heats – Darryl Robison and Nick Kocuba

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. A. J. Poljak, 2. Bill Robertson, 3. Stacie White, 4. Darryl Robison, 5. Adam Chytil, 6. Nick Kocuba, 7. Bob Schwartzmiller, 8. Aaron Jones, 9. Russ Volponi, 10. Don Bauerle, 11. Jeff Broniszewski, 12. Jake Simmons


Amateur Stock

Heats – Rick Gorsuch and Eric Goldberg

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Davy Lee, 2. Eric Goldberg, 3. Robby Torrens, 4. Rick Gorsuch, 5. Travis Gatten, 6. Craig Koteles, 7. Gary Koteles, 8. Darren Ferguson, 9. Derek Stefanick, 10. Ray Prolenski, 11. Dan Mengon, 12. Jarrod Weiland, 13. Tony White, 14. Terry Kerr


Young Guns

Feature (6 Laps) – 1. Sarah Schrum, 2. Todd Janus, 3. Rich Mason, 4. Nick Johnson, 5. Dusty Curry, 6. Devin Tomei, 7. Tyler Fox