For immediate release,

Imperial, PA

Join us at PPMS this Saturday, June 1, 2019, for the 8th Annual Ed Laboon Memorial presented by STAAR Logistics and STAAR Lubricants for the Homak Penn Ohio Pro Stocks. The Pro Stocks will have Penn Ohio rules with open tires, any compound. The 8th Annual Ed Laboon Memorial is the highest paying Pro Stock race in the 40-year history of the speedway. The Race pays $4017 to win, $200 to start, along with the Dobs Auto Non-Qualifiers Race, paying $517 to win, $100 to start, with no entry or registration fees. PPMS will also be featuring, the Diehl Automotive RUSH Late Model Dirt Series, the Keystone Coach Works Hobby Stocks, the Four Cylinders, and the Young Guns. Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps begin at 6 p.m., and the racing action begins at 7 p.m.

The addition of the STAAR Companies as presenting sponsors has enabled the Ed Laboon Memorial to grow to a record payout near $20,000. “I began discussing this partnership with the Gordon family in March and was very impressed with their services, products, and love for racing,” stated race promoter Vince Laboon. “I wanted to grow this race even more in 2019 and STAAR has stepped up to make that happen. STAAR has been a part of the local and national racing scene for over 30 years and it just seemed like a natural fit.”

“I’m excited to become part of the Ed Laboon Memorial,” explained Todd Gordon, the CEO of STAAR Companies, earlier this year. “STAAR Lubricants Trick Shot currently sponsors the Rick Ware Racing #52 Chevrolet in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and this partnership allows us to grow our brand in the local dirt racing scene as well and I really like that.”

Both companies are located in Reynoldsville, PA. STAAR Lubricant’s Trick Shot is a high-performance penetrating lubricant that unlocks seized parts, prevents and breaks rust loose, fights corrosion, long-lasting lubrication, protects, cleans, and is a “green” product. It is 100% biodegradable, non-toxic, food safe, non-flammable and safe for the environment. The product’s primary focus is the industrial user who requires a high-performance eco-friendly product that is both safe for their employees, the environment, waterways, and meets corporate sustainability initiatives. Be sure to “like” their product page Trick Shot Lubricants on Facebook.

This will be the 8th edition of the popular Ed Laboon Memorial Race. Past winners include Bob Schwartzmiller (28S), Jeff Broniszewski (08), Curt Bish (29), Rusty Martz (16M) (two times), Todd Weldon (45), and Chris Schneider (55). Ed Laboon was a life-long supporter of local dirt track racing. Ed raced in the 70s and 80s, was a crew member of the Mileys for many years, and owned many cars for his family and close friends. Ed passed in 2012 after a battle with lung cancer.

The Penn Ohio Pro Stock Series continues to grow thanks to the support of Homak Manufacturing. “Homak has been the corporate sponsor of the Series since its inception in 2014,” proclaimed Series Director, Shaun Hooks. “We are truly fortunate to have such a great company backing what we love to do. Without their support and the support of so many returning sponsors, our goal to give back to the drivers and expand the Series into what it is today would not be possible.”

Additional Series returning sponsors include Wrapz by Reiser, Hoosier Tire, Precise Racing Products, American Racer, Lias Tire, E & K Equipment, Timber Lake Lodge, Les Frickshun, SS Chassis & Supply, Bish Heating & Cooling, Dirt Defender LLC, Close Racing Supply, R & R Enterprise Auto Sales & Garage, Blue Ox Timber, Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Wedge Motorsports, Genesis Racing Shocks, ARbodies, Jacob’s Towing, Phantom Signs & Shirts, and Animal Graphics & Signs.

“We were able to add more contingency prizes for each race, as well as the banquet with the addition of sponsors in the racing industry,” boasted Shaun Hooks. Joining the team of sponsors in 2019 is Joe Willcox Performance Automatics, Ultra Shield Race Products, and STAAR Lubricant’s Trick Shot.

Please contact the promoter, Vince Laboon, with any questions leading up to the event at 412-396-9138 or

Special thanks to the ELM Platinum Sponsors: Horhut Tree Experts, US Flow, West Mifflin Collision, Penn Ohio Pro Stock Series, Ground Effex Landscaping, Lias Tire, Loose Moose Saloon, Kyle Shannon Racing, Animal Graphics & Signs, and Supercuts Whitehall.

Thanks to all sponsors of the race: Brandon McClintock, Three Rivers Karting, Tri-State Motorsports, Cleetus Motorsports, SS Chassis, AJ Poljak Racing, Rebel Yell Motorsports, Matt Miley, 93X Race Team, Anarchy Kustoms, Imperial Tire & Automotive, Hunkele Family, Gary Smith, Jim Bryce, Schirnhofer Racing, Koteles Racing, Damage Inc Racing, RUSH Pro Stock Series, Jessie Brock Racing, Steigerwald Racing, Schwarzl & Loria Motorsports, Greg Wheeling, Robertson Racing, Melissa Steffey Team with Jeffrey Costa Select Realty, 221K Race Team, Doug Clark, James Huff, Stacie White in memory of Willie White, The Dirt Network, KL Appraisal Services, Brian Osborne, Lynnwade Pressure Washing, FK Enterprises, Heather Vandriak, Jim Fosnaught Racing, Weldon Racing, Manieckis 1st Racing, DuratZbilt Racing, Haught Shot Services, Robert Betz Racing, and Imperial Heights Garage.

Ed Laboon Memorial Payout

1. $4,017

2. $2000

3. $1000

4. $800

5. $700

6. $600

7. $500

8. $450

9. $400

10. $350

11. $300

12. $275

13. $250

14-16. $225

17-28 $200

TOTAL $14,717

Dobs Non-Qualifier Payout

1. $517

2. $225

3. $200

4. $175

5. 160

6. $150

7. $140

8. $130

9. $120

10-28 $100

TOTAL $3,717


Fast Time $100

Fast Dash $200

Hard Charger $100