30th Annual Jook George Memorial up next at PPMS 

For immediate release, 

Imperial, PA

Join us at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway this Saturday, August 10, with the 30th Annual Jook George Memorial Steel City Classic in town for the Diehl Automotive RUSH Late Model Dirt Series and the RUSH Late Model Touring Series. This marquee event will pay $10,010 to the winner, with possibly more going to the winner in bonus money. Branden Lockwich, the race promoter, has made the 30th Annual Jook George Memorial the highest paying event in the history of the RUSH Late Model Dirt Series. 

William Thomas “Jook” George had a brief driving career himself, but as he turned to car owner he chose and had for most of his racing career the #10 and that was in honor of his racing hero, Lou Blaney, who drove his car on a couple occasions. Other highlights of his career was being nominated as the Sportsman of the Year at PPMS, being nominated into the Pittsburgh Circle Track Hall of Fame, winning the track championship at PPMS in 1990 with John Beatty behind the wheel, and winning the Fall Classic in 1993 with Bill Yakin, also at PPMS. His most dominant stretch as a car owner came in the late ‘70s when Earl Teeters was his driver.

Starting in 2015, Lockwich took up the effort to make the “Jook George Steel City Classic” the biggest race in the tri-state area for the RUSH Late Model Dirt Series. The event has grown in stature every year. In 2017, the event was under the Sweeney Tour Banner for the first time and drew 43 cars with Mike Pegher, Jr. capturing the $4,010 win. Last year, Jacob Hawkins scored the event’s richest payday, worth $5,010, that attracted an event record 51 cars. 

Back on May 29, Lockwich made the announcement that with Zarin Truck & Auto coming on board as the presenting sponsor and other contribution increases that the event would pay a record $6,010 to-win with the goal of $7,510. Since that announcement, both the George Family and Miley Motor Sports have increased their contributions toward the event purse to guarantee that the 30th annual winner of the 50-lap feature will pocket $10,010 to-win and $450 just to start this one-day event!  The non-qualifier race will pay a minimum of $300 to-win, $155 to-start. 

There is even more money on the line for the race-winner.  Lockwich said PPMS owners Miley Motor Sports also came up with an additional bonus if the winner contributes to the event.

“We wanted to do something to reward the teams and drivers that support this race year-in and year-out,” said Lockwich.  “We came up with the idea of a thousand-dollar bonus, so if Jim Smith wins the ‘Jook George Memorial’ and contributes as far as a lap sponsor, he will win that $1,000 bonus making his payday $11,010, which is pretty good for that class on a one-day race.”

In addition to the normal $100 FK Rod Ends “Shock the Clock” Qualifying and $25 to-win heat races, the “John Beatty Memorial” Dash will be run to determine the beginning of the feature line-up that will pay a record $404 to-win thanks to Matt Shufstall!  The possibility exists for one driver to leave Pittsburgh on August 10, with $11,529 in earnings!

I started this in 2015 just figuring it would be a one-time deal but it just kind of grew every year,” said Lockwich.  “I’ve been blessed because a lot of these guys and gals that sponsor, they’ve been with me since I took over in 2015.”

“This is the type of thing that energizes Miley Motor Sports to keep Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway alive,” continued Miley.  “It’s been a long ride, 31 consecutive seasons! Age and what comes with it take a toll on us. We simply can’t do everything ourselves.  Younger folks who love the sport stepping up and making some of our best events is unbelievably refreshing. It energizes an old ownership team.  A very sincere Thank You from all of us at Miley Motor Sports!”

“Miley Motor Sports is ecstatic about the 30th edition of the RUSH Dirt Late Model Series ‘Jook George Classic’, which is set-up to be the biggest and best ever to honor our great friend of racing, Jook George,” said PPMS promoter Matt Miley. “We can’t thank Branden, the RUSH team, and all who have contributed enough.  It’s a win, win, win, win – for racers, fans, sponsors and the Speedway.”

Lockwich and Miley are expecting a huge field attempting to qualify for the 50-lap feature.

“I would look for close to 50 if not more cars,” said Lockwich.  “Last year the race was $5,010 to-win and we had 51. I’d say we’re looking at over 50-cars from 5-or-6-States, maybe some guys from Canada.”

As well as the Diehl Automotive RUSH Late Model Dirt Series, PPMS will also be featuring, the PPMS Pro Stocks, the Keystone Coach Works Hobby Stocks, the Four Cylinders, and the Young Guns. Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps begin at 6 p.m., and the racing action will commence at 7 p.m.

Past Winners of the Jook George Memorial

2018 – Jacob Hawkins 
2017 – Mike Pegher Jr.
2016 – Mike Reft
2015 – Colton Flinner
2014 – Daryl Charlier
2013 – Colton Flinner
2012 – Kyle Lukon
2011 – Mike Pegher Jr.
2010 – Dan Angelicchio
2009 – Mike Pegher Jr.
2008 – Mike Pegher Jr.
2007 – Kyle Lukon
2006 – Tommy Schirnhofer Jr.
2005 – Brandon Burgoon
2004 – Pete Loria
2003 – Bobby Castelvetter
2002 – Gary Cellone
2001 – Brian Laraway
2000 – Dave Wade
1999 – Jim Stephans
1998 – Dave Wade
1997 – Dave Wade
1996 – Jason Cisson
1995 – Mel Minnick
1994 – Rich Curry
1993 – Bill Yakin
1992 – Mike Johnson
1991 – Bill Yakin
1990 – Bill Yakin