For immediate release, 

Imperial, PA 

Join us at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway this Saturday, August 17, when the Penn Ohio Pro Stock Series comes to town for a double-header event. The 8th Annual Ed Laboon Memorial, presented by STAAR Logistics and STAAR Lubricants, was originally scheduled for June 1, but Mother Nature ruined the fun, only 3 laps into the feature. The field will be set as of lap 3 and will complete the final 27 laps. The 8th Annual Ed Laboon Memorial is the highest paying Pro Stock race in the 40-year history of the speedway. The Race pays $4017 to win, $200 to start, along with the Dobs Auto Non-Qualifiers Race, paying $517 to win, $100 to start.  This is the 8th edition of the popular Ed Laboon Memorial Race. Past winners include Bob Schwartzmiller (28S), Jeff Broniszewski (08), Curt Bish (29), Rusty Martz (16M) (two times), Todd Weldon (45), and Chris Schneider (55). Ed Laboon was a life-long supporter of local dirt track racing. Ed raced in the 70s and 80s, was a crew member of the Mileys for many years, and owned many cars for his family and close friends. Ed passed in 2012 after a battle with lung cancer.

The 4th Annual “Wee” Willie White Memorial will also take place on Saturday. The race will be 20 laps and pay $1,000 to win. Willie was a long-time Street Stock racer at the speedway compiling 11 wins over his career. Willie piloted the famous black and orange 55 car for many years at PPMS. Willie was responsible for getting his nephew Stacie, and son Danny, involved in the sport he loved. Willie also was a dedicated employee at the track prior to his passing in 2016. Previous winners of the “Wee” Willie White Memorial include Chris Schneider (55), Wayne Carbo (54), and Fosnaught (73). 

The Penn Ohio Series has produced exciting racing with six different winners in six events this season. The Penn Ohio Pro Stock points race will also be one to watch, with only 13 points separating first through fifth place. Additionally, only two points separate the top three drivers. Tim Bish (11B), from Ringgold, is sitting atop the leaderboard with 442 points. Hunter Exley (23HJR), from Franklin, is in second place with 441 points, while Jason Fosnaught (73), from Tarentum, is in third place with 440 points. Bobby Whitling (7W), from Seneca, is in fourth place with 434 points, and Rusty Moore (17M), from New Castle, rounds out the top five with 429 points. Last Saturday, Ryan Moyer (13X), from Portersville, became the ninety-second winner in 674 all-time races for the Pro Stock division at Dirt’s Monster Half-Mile. 

As well as the Penn Ohio Pro Stock Series, PPMS will also be featuring, the Diehl Automotive RUSH Late Model Dirt Series, and features only for the Keystone Coach Works Hobby Stocks, the Four Cylinders, and the Young Guns. Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps begin at 6 p.m., and the racing action will begin at 7 p.m.

Ed Laboon Memorial starting lineup- 3 laps down, 27 to go: 

Start- Driver 

1 Chris Schneider (55)

2 Daryl Charlier (114)

3 Jackson Humanic (17) 

4 Rusty Martz (16M)

5 Todd Weldon (45)

6 Hunter Exley (23HJ)

7 Bobby Whitling (7W)

8 Greg Beach (33X)

9 Steve D’Apolito (84)

10 Danny Rich (67X)

11 Curtis J Bish (29)

12 A.J. Poljak (36)

13 Rob Shook (64S)

14 Randy Wyant (11T)

15 Noah Brunell (31)

16 Chris McGuire (63)

17 Rusty Moore (17M)

18 Rod Laskey (1R)

19 Kyle Couchenour (299) 

20 Josh Langer (11)

21 Mike Harris (18)

22 Tim Bish (11B)

23 Chris Withers (21W)

24 Jason Fosnaught (73)

25 Jeff Broniszewski (08) 

26 Tyler Thompson (T2)

27 Corey McPherson (C33) 

28 Nick Kocuba (10) (-3 laps, Lucky Dog eligible)

Dobs NQ race, 15 laps:

Start- Driver

1 Jim Fosnaught (20J)

2 Jeremy Perry (15X) 

3 Brent McDonald (25M) 

4 Heath Close (77) 

5 Robert Betz (81)

6 Bill Slade (A22) 

7 Joshua Seippel (84S)

8  Brad Koteles (33K) 

9 Jacob Billyk (4)

10 Shaun Hooks (65)

11 Andrew Gordon (25G) 

12 Gary Koteles (64K)

13 Davey Lee (96L)

14 Ryan Newman (12)

15 Bryan Wagner (56)