Great weather gave way to some great racing Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.  Jared Miley took the checkers in the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model feature, while Corey McPherson held on to a commanding lead to claim his first ever victory in the Precise Racing Products Rush Late Model division.  Montour High School’s 17 year old Christian Schneider finished first in the Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman feature, and making his first appearance this season, Joe Podolinsky of Oakdale won in the Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stocks division.  The Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns class produced another first time winner Saturday night – Michael Jackson.  Kelvin Kohan continued to dominate in the ¾ Late Model division by adding another victory to his total for the season.

The first heat in the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models had Colton Flinner finishing first, with some hard racing for position going on behind him.  Michael Norris finished second, followed by Steve Baker, Ed Ferree and Jim Stephens.  John Mollick started on the pole in the second heat and dominated the entire 10 laps to finish first with an average speed of 124.73 mph, followed by Lynn Geisler, Jared Miley, Mike Johnson and Ben Miley.  After the re-draw, the top two positions were held by Lynn Geisler and Jared Miley.  Jared took the lead on the first lap and battled to hold onto that spot with the veteran driver, but eventually he pulled away and was able to take the checkered flag at the end.  This was Jared’s 26th late model victory at PPMS.  Meanwhile, drivers behind the first two battled for position in some great racing, with Michael Norris, Steve Baker, and Mike Johnson changing spots throughout the 25 lap event.  Alex Ferree, who had car problems and did not participate in the heats, started in the 14th spot and charged his way through the crowd to finish 5th.  In the end, it was Miley, Geisler, Baker, Norris and Ferree in the top five.  Brandon Burgoon competed in his heat but was not able to take part in the feature after the rear end in his car broke.

Nico DaBecco took first place in the first of two heats in the Precise Racing Products Rush Late Model division, and Corey McPherson of Tarentum passed Justin Lamb on lap five to take the checkers in the second heat of the night in the class.  Starting second in the feature, McPherson charged to the front and dominated the race to claim his first victory ever in a Rush Late Model and at PPMS.  While the rest of the field couldn’t catch him, they jockeyed for position throughout the feature, and in the end the remainder of the top five included Steve Beatty, Mark Moats, Jr., Daryl Charlier and DaBecco.

Jake Simmons and Christian Schneider finished first in their heats in the Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman class, and the feature had Nick Kocuba of Imperial, starting in the pole position.  However, in the end, it was Schneider who took the checkered flag after starting 8th.  Kocuba finished second in his best race of the season after being plagued by car troubles earlier in the year.  They were followed by Bill Robertson, Simmons and Vince Laboon.

The Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stocks had Joe Podolinsky claiming victory in both the heat race and in the feature event.  This was Joe’s first appearance this season after a devastating fire earlier in the year destroyed his race car. Podolinsky was followed by Steve Pyeritz, Dave McManus, Dylan Bolind, and Hannah Ramsey.

Michael Jackson of South Park started on the pole in the Imperial Heights Garage Young Gun 10 lap feature event, which showcased 10 Young Gun drivers, the most ever.  Jackson, 16, was able to hold onto the top spot and earn his first victory ever in the division.  He was closely followed by David Ostrander, Devin Black, OB Huff, and Dave Ostrander.

Karl Kohan continued his dominating driving style to take the checkers in the ¾ Late Model event, averaging 105 mph.  Jim Thompson and Chris Kohan finished second and third.